How to be a Courteous Neighbor in FrontierVille

Sometimes I’ll load up FrontierVille after a hiatus and I’ll find some neighbors on my land, patiently waiting to be put to work.

Why did he want the flower?

Usually I’m very grateful when my neighbors come to visit. Especially when they want to water my peanuts. I’m doing the Master Farmer Quest part III, so most of my frontier is devoted to growing peanuts. Every time a neighbor waters one of my peanuts it shaves 7 hours off of the 4 day growing period.

Sometimes, however, my neighbors do not water peanuts. Even when I have a ‘tend here’ sign in my peanut patch. Sometimes they want to feed my animals, or chop the trees in my re-growing forest. Then I’m not as happy, and frequently dismiss them.

Ultimately, you as a player have the right to do whatever you want when you visit someone else’s land. If your neighbor isn’t satisfied with your actions, they can always dismiss you, preventing any damage you may have done. Yet sometimes being an honest, helpful neighbor is confusing. How can you tell whether or not the wildflowers are going to be considered weeds or part of a fledgling flower garden? With that in mind, I’ve made a list of tips one should follow to ensure that your actions are always appreciated and your reputation will be shining & spotless.

Buffalo Betty revives some pumpkins – even though her eye is on the Oxen.

1. Always Unwither Crops First

As a visiting neighbor you have two tremendous powers. First and foremost, you have the ability to bring withered crops back from the dead. If you’re visiting a frontier and see a plot of withered crops, it is your duty as a good neighbor to unwither those crops, no matter how tempting it might be to feed the Oxen instead. The only exception to this rule is if you’re visiting the frontier of a player who has clearly quit the game. Then you can do whatever you like.

2. Tend Crops with High Harvest Times

As I said in number 1, you have two tremendous powers. The first is to unwither crops. The second is cut down on growing times of crops. This is a very useful, and a very much so appreciated ability. If you visit a neighbor’s frontier the most helpful thing you can do, after unwithering crops, is to tend to crops that take a long time to grow. Tending (sometimes referred to in-game as watering) can shave off up to 7 hours from grow time. That saves a lot of downtime for the player. As you advance in levels you receive quests to grow crops with high harvest times, and you could really use all the help you can get. If you’re confused about which crops to water, follow this chart:

Peanuts > Cotton > Peanuts > Wheat > Corn > Flax > Potatoes > Pumpkins

Tomatoes and Clover have such short growing times that you can skip them if you’d like, and move on down the list.

3. Harvest Crops

At this point in the game farming is the best way to make money and gain experience. Crops make up the livelihood of many players. Animals may bring in money, but crops net more experience and food per plot of land. If you visit a neighbor and see a field of corn waiting to be harvested, do your neighbor a favor and help with the harvest. Harvesting crops takes precedence over animals and watering lesser crops like Tomatoes and Clover.

4. Harvest Fruit Trees

This is one of the nicest things, in my opinion, that you can do for a neighbor. Fruit trees tend to get ignored, as they’re in the background, and they have short harvest times. They do, however, have great rewards. I always appreciate it when a neighbor works in the orchard for me. Unless I have peanuts growing. Then I’m mad.

5. Feed Animals

If you’ve exhausted all the options of tending crops, then it’s time to move onto livestock. Livestock aren’t as lucrative as crops but some are needed for quests and some are kept for the pure pleasure of having animals on the homestead. As a rule, I tend to feed my neighbors’ chickens last. Chickens have the shortest harvest period of all livestock: only 30 minutes. I’d much rather have a neighbor feed my Sheep or Pigs than my Chickens. Sometimes I let my Chickens go hungry for hours on end.

6. Clear Land with Caution

There have been times when I’ve visited a neighbor and there really wasn’t anything to do. All the animals were fed, there weren’t any crops, and the fruit trees were bare. Then it’s time to proceed to clearing the land. When clearing a neighbors land, always use caution. Never clear thorns, cacti, or skulls on a neighbor’s property. These are needed for quests and take forever to spawn.

The first thing to clear is grass. Grass grows quickly and frequently, and very few players tend to save their grass. Then you can move on to Wildflowers. If your neighbor has a patch of wildflowers growing with a fence around them, hands off! It’s most likely a flower garden in the making. Otherwise, hack away.

7. Chop Trees Last

Trees take a very long time to grow. I’ve replanted some trees a week ago and they still aren’t fully grown. Unless you’re in dire need of wood, or your neighbor makes it painfully clear they’d like their trees gone, leave the forest alone. I tend to chop trees only when there’s absolutely nothing else to do on the farm. Keep in mind that if you do chop trees, you’ll get wood instead of food.

There you have it! Buffalo Betty’s Guide to Being a Courteous Neighbor in FrontierVille. Follow this list to ensure you’re always on good terms with your neighbors.

The only exceptions to the above rules, unless otherwise noted, is when you come across a Frontier that has clearly been abandoned. Tell-tale signs of abandonment include, but are not limited to: hungry baby animals, withered crops, grass and wildflowers run rampant, and fully grown trees in odd places. If you happen to visit an abandoned Frontier, consider it a free for all.

I have a feeling he’s not coming back.

3 Responses to “How to be a Courteous Neighbor in FrontierVille”


  1. 1 mstake July 23, 2010 at 6:18 PM

    I understand the reason alot of my neighbors do things such as chop my trees and harvest certain things has to do with the quests we get so I just accept if I need the help and dissmiss if not. Im always glad to see people take an interest in my frontier.

  2. 2 Susan Eggert July 30, 2010 at 3:45 AM

    We all want good neighbors, but it works both ways! I see the role of visiting neighbors as two-fold…to help both my neighbors and myself progress on our respective frontier journeys. As a good neighbor, I plant crops that I know friends need to tend for their quests, and in turn, expect them to help me with mine. We even email each other with specific requests.

    As long as quests require one to tend the crops and livestock of neighbors, expect visitors to not always do what you prefer..
    I try to divvy up tends between the needs of neighbor and me. Because most of us plant/grow not just for our own quests… when one helps the other, both win!

  3. 3 Vixen March 1, 2011 at 10:52 PM

    I disagree with harvesting crops. Many requests require a certain number of sunflowers or cabbage. Harvesting them makes a person have to start all over again. Chop a tree should be a long way before that, unless your personal quest requires you to harvest a neighbor’s crop. If I chop 5 times on a neighbors tree, rarely will it be enough to chop it down. The neighbor isn’t out a tree. But if you take their wheat, they’ll be 5 short and it will take a whole extra day to finish their quest (which may be the difference between finishing on time or not).


Leave a Reply

Archive

Ride the Pony Express

Itchin' to tell a story? Have a photo to share? Send us a hollar at pioneerpartyblog@gmail.com. We can't promise to post or acknowledge everything we receive but we can promise to read each and every letter sent.
June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 75,590 visitors

